sculpture

In using the direct additive technique of sculpture I have began to make a bust using the process of wet on wet plaster, I began with making an armature, to build my form, after sketching various members of family and class. I then  started to build up a portrait of my chosen image, my inspiration comes from Naum Gabo, and his ability to create form using geometric shape. I admire his use of angles and especially his refinement of the precisely defined planes, a refinement that  Gabo and Antonie Pesvner both capture respectively in such works as Constructed Head and Portrait of Marcel Duchamp.

My own work is still unfinished but I would like to create a mass of angles bearing a resemblance to the human head.  I hope my work will show the viewer a clear link to the artists that have inspired me.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

